Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

 

Directory


 

Administrative Core

Director

Karl Klose, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology

Office: BSE 3.252
Phone: (210) 458-6140

Lab: BSE 3.252
Lab Phone: (210) 458-6141

Email: karl.klose@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-Klose

Research Interests: Dr. Klose’s lab is interested in bacterial pathogenesis; they are researching Vibrio cholerae and Francisella tularensis.

Associate Director

Jose Lopez-Ribot, Pharm.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology

Office: MBT 1.246
Phone: (210) 458-7022

Lab: MBT 1.246
Lab Phone: (210) 458-7023

Email: jose.lopezribot@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-LopezRibot

Research Interests: Dr. Lopez-Ribot's lab studies fungal infections, with an emphasis on the opportunistic pathogenic fungus Candida albicans.

Parliamentarian

Neal Guentzel, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology

Office: BSE 3.204
Phone: (210) 458-4473


Email: neal.guentzel@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-Guentzel

Research Interests: Dr. Guentzel’s research interests are in the area of infectious diseases, specifically microbial pathogenesis and immunity to infectious diseases.

back to top

 

Faculty

Bernard P. Arulanandam, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology

Office: PNB 2.130Q
Phone: (210) 458-8176

Lab: BSE 3.232
Lab Phone: (210) 458-5492

Email: bernard.arulanandam@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-Arul

Research Interests: Dr. Arulanandam's primary research interests involve investigating the mechanisms by which Chlamydia trachomatis causes disease in humans.

Astrid Cardona, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Immunology

Office: MBT 1.216
Phone: (210) 458-5071

Lab: MBT 1.212
Lab Phone: (210) 458-5029

Email: astrid.cardona@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-Cardona

Research Interests: Dr. Cardona’s lab is interested in immune responses that develop in the central nervous system. She studies fractalkine and its role during multiple sclerosis inflammation, utilizing experimental models of brain autoimmunity.

James Chambers, Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry

Office: BSE 3.224
Phone: (210) 458-5477


Email: james.chambers@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-Chambers

Research Interests: Dr. Chambers’ research interests focus on biosensors, influenza epidemiology, and Francisella tularensis. He seeks to understand the processes that make it possible to develop new and novel treatment regimes, with special regard to treatments for illness associated with F. tularensis.

Ashok Chaturvedi, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Research

Office: MBT 1.246
Phone: (210) 458-7023


Email: ashok.chaturvedi@utsa.edu

 

Research Interests: Dr. Chaturvedi’s primary research interests lie in fungal proteomics, fungal biofilm, and immunology.

Mark Eppinger, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbial Genomics

Office: FLN 4.02.34
Phone: (210) 458-6276

Lab: BSE 3.404
Lab Phone: -

Email: mark.eppinger@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-Eppinger

Research Interests: Dr. Eppinger's research activities are aimed at the understanding of the pathogenome evolution and pathogenic potential of various human infectious microbes, their extant ecological diversity, and individual interplay of host and infectious agent.

Thomas Forsthuber, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Immunology

Office: BSE 3.254
Phone: (210) 458-5760

Lab: BSE 3.250
Lab Phone: (210) 458-5499

Email: thomas.forsthuber@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-Forsthuber

Research Interests: The research in Dr. Forsthuber’s lab focuses on the role of the immune system in human diseases, in particular on T lymphocytes in autoimmune diseases such as multiple sclerosis, and in infectious diseases.

Kirsten Hanson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology

Office: BSE 1.646
Phone: (210) 458-5904

Lab Office: BSE 3.408
Lab Phone: (210) 458-5221

Email: kirsten.hanson@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-Hanson

 

Research Interests: Dr. Hanson’s lab is focused on the cellular and developmental biology of Plasmodium parasites and host-parasite interactions, particularly in the asymptomatic liver stage of the parasite lifecycle.

Hans W. Heidner, Ph.D.
Professor of Virology

Office: BSB 2.03.34
Phone: (210) 458-5767

Lab: BSB 2.03.34
Lab Phone: (210) 458-5767

Email: hans.heidner@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-Heidner

Research Interests: Dr. Heidner’s research focuses on the replication of alphaviruses in vertebrate and mosquito cells, as well as the use of alphavirus-based vectors for cell targeting and vaccine applications and development.

Chiung-Yu Hung, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Research

Office: MBT 1.308
Phone: (210) 458-7018


Email: chiungyu.hung@utsa.edu

 

Research Interests: Dr. Hung’s research focuses on the mechanisms of fungal virulence and on the development of a vaccine against the human respiratory disease coccidioidomycosis (San Joaquin Valley fever).

Soo Chan Lee, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology

Office:
Phone: (210) 458-5398

Email: soochan.lee@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-Lee

Research Interests: Dr. Lee's lab focuses on medical mycology and fungal pathogenesis, primarily mucormycosis, an emerging fungal infection that poses serious threats to public health.

Robert Renthal, Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry

Office: BSB 2.03.32
Phone: (210) 458-5452


Email: robert.renthal@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-Renthal

Research Interests: Dr. Renthal’s research focuses on protein biochemistry, cell membranes, and insect pheromone signaling.

Stephen Saville, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Genetics

Office: MBT 1.228
Phone: (210) 458-6197


Email: stephen.saville@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-Saville

Research Interests: Dr. Saville’s lab focuses on the genetic regulation of Candida albicans cell shape and determining how morphological changes impact the ability of the fungus to cause disease in both mucosal and disseminated infection models.

Janakiram Seshu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Bacterial Pathogenesis

Office: BSE 3.230
Phone: (210) 458-6578


Email: j.seshu@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-Seshu

Research Interests: Dr. Seshu's research interests include bacterial pathogenesis, Lyme Disease, Q fever, and the biology of Spirochetes.

Garry Sunter, Ph.D.
Professor of Plant Pathology

Office: BSB 2.03.38
Phone: (210) 458-5479


Email: garry.sunter@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-Sunter

Research Interests: Dr. Sunter’s research interests include host virus interactions and gene silencing. Currently, he is exploring mechanisms of transcriptional regulation in geminiviruses.

Yufeng Wang, Ph.D.
Professor of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology

Office: FLN 3.01.20
Phone: (210) 458-6492

Lab Office: FLN 3.0.1.20
Lab Phone: (210) 458-6493

Email: yufeng.wang@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-Wang/

Research Interests: Research in Dr. Wang's lab focuses on the comparative genomics, molecular evolution, and population genetics of gene families.

Floyd L. Wormley Jr., Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology

Office: BSE 2.304G
Phone: (210) 458-6635

Lab: MBT 1.238
Lab Phone: (210) 458-7020

Email: floyd.wormley@utsa.edu

Lab Page: http://stceid.utsa.edu/lab-Wormley

Research Interests: Dr. Wormley uses the Cryptococcus neoformans and Cryptococcus gattii as model organisms to study host-fungal interactions in order to develop novel immune therapies and/or vaccines to treat and/or prevent fungal infections, particularly in immune compromised patients.

Karen Wozniak, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Research

Office: MBT 1.243
Phone: (210) 458-7021


Email: karen.wozniak@utsa.edu

 

Research Interests: Dr. Wozniak is interested in the immune response to the fungal pathogen Cryptococcus neoformans.

Jieh-Juen Yu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Research

Office: BSE 3.232
Phone: (210) 458-5210


Email: jiehjuen.yu@utsa.edu

 

Research Interests: Dr. Yu’s research interests are in the development of vaccines against respiratory bacterial pathogens and the elucidation of host immune responses to bacterial infection.

back to top

 

Staff

Sara Eppinger, MS
Laboratory Manager - Mark Eppinger Lab
Lab: BSE 3.410
Phone:
Email: sara.eppinger@utsa.edu

Ildiko Forsthuber
Research Scientist Associate I - Thomas Forsthuber Lab
Lab: BSE 3.250
Phone: (210) 458-5499
Email: ildiko.forsthuber@utsa.edu

Anna Lazzell
Research Coordinator - Jose Lopez-Ribot Lab
Lab: MBT 1.246
Phone: (210) 458-7023
Email: anna.lazzell@utsa.edu

Elizabeth Morris
Research Scientist Assistant I
Lab: MBT 1.202
Phone: (210) 458-7025
Email: elizabeth.morris@utsa.edu

Christopher Pierce, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Office: MBT 1.240
Phone: (210) 458-7023
Email: christopher.pierce@utsa.edu

Cheryl Sandoval
Senior Administrator Associate
Lab: MBT 1.308
Phone: (210) 458-7016
Email: cheryl.sandoval@utsa.edu

Janet Sunter
Research Scientist Associate I - Garry Sunter Lab
Lab: BSB 2.03.36
Phone: (210) 458-4510
Email: janet.sunter@utsa.edu

back to top